APPYnotebook

Group

Understanding Groups

Groups are the organizing root of the workspace. All work in the workspace takes place within the context of a group. A group can be any organization of participants, this includes class rooms, teams or entire organizations.

  1. Create A Group
  2. Rename Group
  3. Add New Participant
  4. Load Participants
  5. Send Invite
  6. Remove Participant
  7. Switch Group

Create A Group

  • Click the group pull-down button to reveal menu options:
  • Enter a name for the group and click the add button:
  • The group will be created and you'll be switched to this group:
  • Additionally the group would now be shown on the group pull-down:

Rename Group

  • Right-click on the group in the navigation panel to reveal menu options.
  • Select "Rename" to reveal input dialog.

Add New Participant

  • Right-click on the group in the navigation panel to reveal menu options:

    Optionally, you can click on the member button to reveal menu options:
  • Select "New Participant" to reveal input dialog:
  • If successful,The new participant would be added to the navigation panel:
  • Note if the participant is a recognized user in the system, then the user is simply added to the group. If the participant doesn't already exist, a new account may be created. However the creation of a new user account would be governed by the pertinent system settings. See system administration section for further detail.

Load Participants

This option is for bulk loading participants into a group. For instance a teacher could add students to a group from an excel file.

  • Right-click on the group in the navigation panel to reveal menu options:

    Optionally, you can click on the member button to reveal menu options:
  • Select "Load Participants from file" to reveal input dialog:
    The input file must be CSV format. The first column must be participant name and the second column must be the email of the participant.
  • If successful,The new participants would be added to the navigation panel (you may need to refresh browser):
  • Note if the participant is a recognized user in the system, then the user is simply added to the group. If the participant doesn't already exist a new account may be created. However the creation of a new user account would be govern by the pertinent system settings. See system administration for further detail.

Send Invite

Invites to a group would be emailed to a participant along with the url for the group.

  • Right-click on the the participant to whom you wish to send an invite in the navigation panel to reveal menu options:
  • Select "Send Invite".

Remove Participant

  • Right-click on the the participant you wish to remove in the navigation panel to reveal menu options:
  • Select "Remove".

Switch Group

  • Click on the group button in the navigation panel to reveal menu options:
  • Select the group you wish to switch to.